2013 taped sessions

Monday, June 24

View from the C-Suite from ASNE on Vimeo.

Gracia C. Martore, Gannett president/CEO
Mark Thompson, The New York Times Co. president/CEO
Patrick J. Talamantes, McClatchy president/CEO
Katharine Weymouth, Washington Post Media CEO and Washington Post publisher
Moderator David Folkenflik, NPR media correspondent

Leading Innovation: The Short Takes and the Long View from ASNE on Vimeo.

Dale Peskin, iFOCOS and WeMedia cofounder/managing director
Kevin Dale, The Denver Post news director
Brian Boyer, NPR news applications editor
Javaun Moradi, NPR product manager
Nancy Barnes, Minneapolis Star Tribune editor/senior VP
John Drescher, Raleigh News & Observer executive editor/senior VP
Tina Rosenberg, The New York Times contributor
Karen Magnuson, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle editor/VP of news
Moderator Val Hoeppner, Val Hoeppner Media and Consulting owner



ASNE Writing Award Winners from ASNE on Vimeo.

Presenter Tom Rosenstiel, American Press Institute executive director


Honoring Two Breakthrough Female Editors: Sandy Rowe and Jill Abramson from ASNE on Vimeo.

Tuesday, June 25

What the Audience is Telling us About the Future of News from ASNE on Vimeo.

Presenter Tom Rosenstiel, American Press Institute executive director

Engagement and Experience: What the Boss Should Know from ASNE on Vimeo.

Melissa Bell, Washington Post director, digital development
Tim Gowa, ABC News and 20/20 associate producer
David Wright, NPR design director
Amanda Zamora, ProPublica engagement editor
Moderator Matt Mansfield, National Geographic executive editor, digital content

The Future of Print: Where the Print Edition Fits into Multi-Platform Strategies from ASNE on Vimeo.

Jim Amoss, New Orleans Times-Picayune editor
Ken Brusic, Orange County Register editor
Joycelyn Winnecke, Chicago Tribune associate editor/VP
Karen Peterson, Tacoma News Tribune editor
Moderator Nancy Barnes, Minneapolis Star Tribune editor/senior VP


The Government vs. the Press from ASNE on Vimeo.

Kathleen Carroll, Associated Press executive editor
James Rosen, Fox News chief Washington correspondent/host of Foxhole
Thomas Drake, National Security Agency senior employee turned whistle-blower (his prosecution under the Espionage Act collapsed in 2011)
Moderator Marty Baron, The Washington Post executive editor


Lunch with Sen. Marco Rubio from ASNE on Vimeo.


Diversity: Where are We? What’s Working? from ASNE on Vimeo.


Special Address on News Literacy from ASNE on Vimeo.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan discusses the Obama administration's goals, challenges and achievements in education.


News Literacy: What’s an Editor to Do? from ASNE on Vimeo.

Alan Miller, The News Literacy Project president/CEO
Lyn Millner, Florida Gulf Coast University journalism professor
Dean Miller, Stony Brook University’s Center for News Literacy director
Brenda Butler, Columbia Links executive director
Moderator Rex Smith, Albany Times Union editor


Data Journalism: The Myths and the Magic from ASNE on Vimeo.

Rich Gordon, Medill School of Journalism professor of digital innovation
Michelle Minkoff, Associated Press interactive producer
Jennifer LaFleur, ProPublica director of computer-assisted reporting
Marc Lavallee, The New York Times deputy editor for interactive
Moderator Melanie Sill, Southern California Public Radio executive editor

Wednesday, June 26

Rise and Shine on Social Media: A Workshop for Early Birds from ASNE on Vimeo.

Presenter Sree Sreenivasan, Columbia University chief digital officer/journalism professor


Improving Reliability: A Frank Talk about Errors, Plagiarism and Fabrication in Newsrooms from ASNE on Vimeo.

Teresa Schmedding, American Copy Editors Society president
Michael Oreskes, Associated Press senior managing editor
Marilyn Thompson, Reuters Washington bureau chief
Moderator Jack Shafer, Reuters columnist


Sunshine in Government Award from ASNE on Vimeo.


Readers' and Viewers' Representatives: Who Needs Them? from ASNE on Vimeo.

Mike Getler, PBS ombudsperson
Margaret Sullivan, The New York Times public editor
Robert Lipsyte, ESPN ombudsperson
Moderator Clark Hoyt, Bloomberg LP senior adviser to the chief executive officer


Knight Foundation presentation from ASNE on Vimeo.

Mike Maness, VP of journalism and media innovation at the Knight Foundation


ASNE Annual Meeting from ASNE on Vimeo.

ASNE President Susan Goldberg (Bloomberg News) passes the gavel to incoming president David Boardman (The Seattle Times). Names of our newly elected board members announced.


Web, Tablets and Mobile: What's Working for Paywalls from ASNE on Vimeo.

Maribel Wadsworth, Gannett VP of audience development and engagement
George Rodrigue, The Dallas Morning News managing editor/VP
Jeremy Gockel, McClatchy Interactive product manager
Moderator David Boardman, The Seattle Times executive editor/senior VP

Lunch with Dick Costolo from ASNE on Vimeo.