2018 ASNE-APME conference a big success

#newsleaders2018 was a big success filled with engaging discussions to better lead newsrooms and support and defend journalism. More than 230 people, including speakers, panelists, sponsors and student journalists, attended the 2018 ASNE-APME News Leadership Conference Sept. 11-12 in Austin, Texas. 

We thank all of you for joining us and making the conference relevant and valuable. If you couldn't join us this year, then we hope to see you next year, Sept. 9-10, in New Orleans
Innovation Track: Measuring Success panel
For stories, photos and videos from the conference, please visit https://www.newsleaders2018.coman online hub featuring outstanding coverage by a team of student journalists from Ball State University and The University of Texas at Austin. For more photos, check out ASNE's Facebook album
In case you missed it, ASNE and APME approved a merger plan to become the News Leaders Association. Both organizations will continue to exist in 2018-19 under the new leadership of ASNE President Nancy Barnes of the Houston Chronicle and APME President Angie Muhs of The State Journal-Register in Springfield, Illinois. Click here to read more about it, including a Q&A about the merger. 
In addition to the News Leadership Conference, ASNE's Emerging Leaders Institute Sept. 9-10 received rave reviews from participants! We thank ASNE Leadership Committee Co-Chairs Jill Geisler of Loyola University Chicago, Manny Garcia of the USA TODAY Network and Ron Smith of USA TODAY, as well as Alfredo Carbajal of Al Dia at The Dallas Morning News, for organizing the program and mentoring an exciting group of emerging news leaders. Also, thanks to the class for their hard work in cultivating their leadership skills.
We'd like to make several shout-outs to those who made the conference as smooth and successful as possible. We first thank journalism faculty and APME board member Juli Metzger of Ball State University and Kathleen McElroy of The University of Texas at Austin, as well as all of the student journalists, for covering the conference across all platforms.
We also thank ASNE-APME Conference Program Committee Co-Chairs Emilio Garcia-Ruiz of The Washington Post, Colin McMahon of the Chicago Tribune and Bill Church of GateHouse Media for putting together a terrific program. And, of course, we can't thank enough our speakers, panelists and attendees for sharing their knowledge and experience. 
Lastly, our deep appreciation goes to all of our generous sponsors for making the #newsleaders2018 conference possible!