ASNE announces finalists for 2017 awards

Columbia, Mo. (March 28, 2017) - Impressive shoe-leather journalism, diligent and determined reporting, mesmerizing digital presentations and emotional photographs are among the entries spotlighted as finalists in the 2017 American Society of News Editors Awards.
The ASNE Awards honor the best in print, digital and video content in 10 categories. The contest drew more than 350 entries, from which 30 finalists from news outlets of various sizes and platforms were named. Winners will be announced next week.
"The finalists for the 2017 ASNE Awards represent the absolute best in American journalism," said ASNE President Mizell Stewart III, vice president of news operations for Gannett and the USA TODAY Network. "One thing that stood out for the judges was that many of the finalists represent innovative reporting partnerships that are local, national and even global. News organizations are becoming more creative at delivering real, trustworthy information to readers locally and around the world."
This is the 38th year for the ASNE Awards, among the most prestigious in journalism. Many of the categories are sponsored and come with cash awards, thanks to a group of editors from the former Knight Ridder Inc., The Dallas Morning News, Advance Publications Inc., the Johns S. and James L. Knight Foundation, The Seattle Times, the Chicago Tribune, the O'Brien Fellowship in Public Service Journalism at Marquette University in Milwaukee and The New York Times.
Judging took place both online and on site at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida. The finalists are as follows:
Batten Medal, honoring achievement in public service journalism
  • Josh Salman, Emily Le Coz and Elizabeth Johnson, Sarasota Herald-Tribune - "Bias on the bench"

 Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership

Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence

Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism
  • Josh Salman, Emily Le Coz and Elizabeth Johnson, Sarasota Herald-Tribune - "Bias on the bench"

Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting

Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing

  • Michael Gerson, The Washington Post - Columns

O'Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism

Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling

Breaking News Writing Award

Photo journalism Award



A group of news leaders and journalism professionals around the nation determined finalists and winners. In addition to the ASNE Awards Committee Co-Chairs George Stanley of Gannett and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and Brian McGrory of The Boston Globe, judges include:

  • Eddie Alvarez, Miami Herald
  • Nancy Barnes, Houston Chronicle
  • Cate Barron, Pennsylvania Media Group
  • Peter Bhatia, The Cincinnati Enquirer
  • David Boardman, Temple University
  • Peter Canellos, POLITICO
  • Alfredo Carbajal, Al Dia (The Dallas Morning News)
  • Paul Cheung, The Associated Press
  • Rick Christie, Palm Beach Post
  • Lucy Dalglish, University of Maryland
  • Randy Essex, Glenwood Springs (Colorado) Post Independent
  • Jason Fields, The Holocaust Museum
  • Kim Fox, Philadelphia Media Network
  • Teresa Frontado, WLRN
  • Manny Garcia, Gannett / Naples Daily News
  • Kyndell Harkness, Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • David Haynes, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Jennifer Hemmingsen, The Gazette (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Mandy Jenkins, Storyful
  • Karen Magnuson, Rochester (New York) Democrat and Chronicle
  • Chris March, Twitter Moments
  • Kevin Merida, The Undefeated (ESPN)
  • Jerry Micco, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
  • Mark Morrow, The Boston Globe
  • George Papajohn, Chicago Tribune
  • Karen Peterson, The News Tribune (Tacoma, Washington)
  • Mitch Pugh, The Post and Courier (Charleston, South Carolina)
  • Amy Pyle, Reveal from The Center for Public Integrity
  • Martin Reynolds, Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
  • Kevin Riley, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • Mark Russell, The Commercial Appeal (Memphis, Tennessee)
  • Rene Sanchez, Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Norberto Santana Jr., Voice of Orange County
  • Nicole Schuman, freelance
  • Debra Adams Simmons
  • Mizell Stewart, USA TODAY Network
  • Tasha Stewart, WCPO
  • Nicole Stockdale, The Dallas Morning News
  • Joyce Terhaar, The Sacramento (California) Bee
  • Hollis Towns, Asbury Park Press (Neptune, New Jersey)
  • KC Wildmoon, Storyful
  • Mike Wilson, The Dallas Morning News
About the American Society of News Editors
The American Society of News Editors is dedicated to the leadership of American journalism. It is committed to fostering the public discourse essential to democracy; helping editors maintain the highest standards of quality, improve their craft and better serve their communities; and preserving and promoting core journalistic values while embracing and exploring change. Learn more at, or follow us on Twitter @NewsEditors and Facebook.