2017 ASNE Awards calling for best journalism work

Columbia, Mo. (Dec. 8, 2016) - The ASNE Awards, one of the few journalism contests in which news organizations of all sizes compete on equal footing, are now accepting entries. New to this year's awards are the new software that is more user-friendly, as well as the updated rules and categories that make the contest more competitive. The deadline to enter is 11:59 p.m. EST Sunday, Jan. 29.
The awards, which encompass nine categories and honor the best in print, online and mobile content, do not consider the size of the organization when selecting winners. This means small news operations compete head-to-head with traditional award-winning juggernauts, such as The New York Times and The Washington Post.
It also means that victory is that much sweeter. Journalists at the Glenwood Springs (Colorado) Post Independent; The Post and Courier, Charleston, South Carolina; ProPublica; the El Paso (Texas) Times; The Joplin (Missouri) Globe; The Bergen County (New Jersey) Record; the Wisconsin State Journal; The News-Star, Monroe, Louisiana; and the Denton (Texas) Record-Chronicle have been winners in the ASNE Awards in the past years. In the ASNE contest, quality journalism finds its way to the top of the pile regardless of the size of the organization producing it.  
In calculating entry fees, however, the ASNE contest does take size into account. There is a $75 fee for news organizations with 1 million monthly unique visitors (MUVs) or more and a $40 entry fee for those with less than 1 million MUVs. The contest is open to all news websites, news services and newspapers in the United States, including those without an ASNE member on staff.
Each participating organization must create its own account at the ASNE Awards contest site. Read carefully the directions on the homepage, and click on the MY ACCOUNT tab to begin the process. Submit entries by 11:59 p.m. EST Sunday, Jan. 29. For questions, contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Schumacher at or 573-882-3792 or ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.
Thanks to our sponsors, seven of the nine ASNE awards come with a $2,500 cash prize. They are:
  • The Batten Medal, sponsored by a group of editors from the former Knight Ridder company
  • The Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership, sponsored by The Dallas Morning News
  • The Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence, sponsored by Advance Publications, Inc.
  • The Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism, sponsored by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
  • The Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting, sponsored by The Seattle Times
  • The Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing, sponsored by the Chicago Tribune
  • The Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling, sponsored by The New York Times
The two other prestigious awards are:
  • Breaking News Writing Award
  • Photojournalism Award 
Winners will be announced in the spring and will be recognized at the Oct. 8-11 at the ASNE-APME conference in Washington, D.C.
About the American Society of News Editors
The American Society of News Editors is dedicated to the leadership of American journalism. It is committed to fostering the public discourse essential to democracy; helping editors maintain the highest standards of quality, improve their craft and better serve their communities; and preserving and promoting core journalistic values while embracing and exploring change. Learn more at, or follow us on Twitter @NewsEditors and Facebook
ASNE's priorities are:
  • To protect First Amendment rights and enhance the free flow of information.
  • To drive the quest for diversity and inclusion in the workplace and news media content.
  • To promote the news media's role in providing information necessary to the informed practice of citizenship.
  • To encourage innovation and celebrate creativity in news organizations.
  • To respect and encourage the involvement of all its members.