Awards presentations, free pre-conference workshop, entertainment and more at ASNE-APME conference Sept. 11-14 in Philly!

The 2016 ASNE-APME News Leadership Conference kicks off in eight weeks in Philadelphia! Here are four things you don't want to miss. 
1. 2016 ASNE Awards presentations

Meet the winners of this year's ASNE Awards throughout the conference! We'll have a short ceremony MondayTuesday and Wednesday to recognize their competitive winning work. 
Monday lunch: 
  • The Baltimore Sun staff for the Breaking News Writing Award
  • The Baltimore Sun staff for the Community Service Photojournalism Award
Tuesday morning:
  • Alissa Rubin, The New York Times, for the Batten Medal
  • David Cook, Chattanooga Times Free Press, for the Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing
Tuesday lunch:
  • Perla Trevizo and Fernanda Echavarri, Arizona Daily Star, for the Dori J. Maynard Award for Diversity in Journalism
Wednesday early morning:
  • Randy Essex, Glenwood Springs (Colorado) Post Independent, for the Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership
  • Michael LaForgia, Cara Fitzpatrick and Lisa Gartner, Tampa Bay Times, for the Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting
Wednesday late morning: 
  • T. Christian Miller, ProPublica, and Ken Armstrong, The Marshall Project, for the Deborah Howell Award for Nondeadline Writing
  • Michael Kimmelman, The New York Times, for the Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling
2. Analytics and Audience: Are We Moving the Digital Needle?
Has our focus on analytics and social media driven new audiences? We will bring together a range of industry thought leaders to discuss what's working, what's not and the challenges in monetizing our digital audience. Moderated by Penny Riordan, director of digital partnerships, Gatehouse Media. Featured panelists: Sachin Kamdar,; Amy Vernon, director of audience engagement, The Daily Dot; and Stephanie Roos, Five Thirty Eight. 
3. Tools and Techniques for Digital Success: Lessons from the Knight-Temple "Table Stakes" Project

Find out whether your newsroom is truly digital-first and positioned to compete for audiences during this pre-conference workshop focused on what it takes to be "in the game of news" in the 21st century. Join project leader Douglas K. Smith and leaders from the four participating newsrooms to learn key questions you should be asking about your newsroom operation and culture, what kind of commitment is needed to transition and how to use tools and techniques created during the project. 
The workshop will take place from 1 to 4 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 11. It is FREE but has limited space and will be available on a first-come, first-served basis to those who are registered to attend the conference. Email ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at to sign up before others take your spot! 
Ralph Archbold
4. Opening party with Benjamin Franklin

Meet and chat with "Benjamin Franklin" at the opening reception at 6 p.m. Sunday at the National Constitution Center (525 Arch St.)! 

Enjoy the cocktails and South Philly favorites from Italian meats and cheeses to grilled vegetable skewers to cheese steaks to chicken cutlet sandwiches to Italian hoagies and much more. A popular Philly jazz quartet, featuring Tanqueray Hayward, one of the city's top jazz vocalists, will entertain throughout the evening.
All conference sessions, except for the opening reception, will take place at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, our conference hotel, at 1201 Market St.
Registration is $275 for members of ASNE and $375 for nonmembers. Lunch tickets are $40 each for Monday and Tuesday, and a limited number of tickets are available for the Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Philadelphia Phillies baseball game at 7:05 p.m. Tuesday. Tickets can be purchased for $32 when you register for the conference.
Deadline to make hotel reservations is Aug. 19. The block of rooms we reserved at the Marriott has a nightly rate of $199 for Sunday, Sept. 11, through Wednesday, Sept. 14.
A draft of the conference program is coming soon at and Questions? Please contact Jiyoung Won at or Sarah Nordgren at