Nominations now open for ASNE Award for News Leadership

Historically, the award has been bestowed for career leadership, or for leadership in the face of especially difficult challenges. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 28, and the winner will be honored at the ASNE convention in San Diego April 6-9. For more details, click here to read the letter from ASNE President Milton Coleman.

The call for nominations below was emailed this afternoon from ASNE President Milton Coleman to ASNE members and other newsroom leaders throughout the U.S.

Newsroom Leaders:

Leading an American newsroom is perhaps more difficult than ever in these tumultuous times, yet many of our colleagues are answering the call in stand-out ways. The American Society of News Editors has chosen to honor such leadership and now is the time to nominate candidates for the 2011 ASNE Leadership Award.

This award can be for career leadership, as it was for H. Brandt Ayers of the Anniston Star, Leonard Downie Jr. of The Washington Post, and most recently, Sandra Mims Rowe of the Oregonian. It also can be for leadership shown in especially difficult times, such as it was for Jim Amoss of the News Orleans Times-Picayune and Stan Tiner of the Biloxi Sun Herald, in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

The nominee can be a top editor, an assignment editor, an online editor or a person from outside the newsroom who has championed great journalism. In other words, this award doesn't stand on title or rank. It rests on the merits of newsroom leadership. And those nominated need not be ASNE members.

Candidates for ASNE's 2011 Award for News Leadership must be nominated by Feb. 28. The honoree will be recognized at the ASNE convention in San Diego April 6-9.

It is also linked to from the editorial leadership award page on the ASNE Web site, where you can find a list of previous honorees.

We hope you will help give us an outstanding field from which to choose the winner of what we believe is one of the news industry's most prestigious awards. Thank you.

Milton Coleman
ASNE President