Nieman Foundation awards and fellowship deadlines

Nieman curator Bob Giles reminds us that deadlines for the Worth Bingham Prize (Jan. 8), the Taylor Family Award (Feb. 5) and the foundation's annual fellowships (Jan. 31) are fast approaching.

Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism
The Nieman Foundation will present the 2009 Bingham Prize on March 4, 2010. The award honors exceptional investigative reporting of a story of national significance in which the public interest is being ill-served.

New this year: Stories published exclusively online may now be submitted for consideration for the Worth Bingham Prize if produced by a U.S. newspaper or magazine or a Web-based news organization that follows a strict code of journalistic ethics and publishes original reporting on a regular basis.

Cash award: $20,000
Deadline: Jan. 8

Nieman Fellowships
The Nieman fellowships are awarded to working journalists of accomplishment and promise who come to Harvard University for a paid year of study,seminars and special events. New this year: The Donald W. Reynolds Nieman Fellowship in Business Journalism.

Deadline: Jan. 31

Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers
This award encourages fairness in news coverage by daily newspapers in the United States.

Cash prize: $10,000 for the winner, $1,000 for each of the top two finalists.
Deadline: Feb. 5