2019-20 NLA Board of Directors announced

Columbia, MO (Aug 30, 2019) - The News Leaders Association elected fourteen new members to the Board of Directors in anticipation of the 2019 NLA News Leadership Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana. 
A new executive committee will begin leading the News Leaders Association as of Sept. 8, 2019, with Michael Days, Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion of The Philadelphia Inquirer, taking the reins as President of NLA for 2019-20. Days is the first President of the new organization, succeeding Nancy Barnes of NPR and Angie Muhs, formerly of the State Journal-Register, who were the former Presidents of ASNE and APME.
" I am thrilled that the members of the former American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors overwhelmingly approved a dynamic, diverse slate to run this new organization — the News Leader Association. I am so looking forward to working with the talented team now charged with the hard work of creating an organization that serves us all."
President: Michael Days , Vice President Diversity and Inclusion, The Philadelphia Inquirer
The rest of the officers of the NLA board will be:
Vice President: George Stanley, Editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and Regional Editor, USA TODAY Network Wisconsin
Treasurer: Mark Baldwin, Executive Editor, Rockford Register Star
Secretary: Manny Garcia, Senior Director, Ethics and Standards, USA TODAY Network
Leadership Initiatives Officer: Robyn Tomlin, Executive Editor, The News & Observer and The Herald-Sun, and Southeast Regional Editor, McClatchy
Membership Initiatives Officer: Alison Gerber, Editor, Chattanooga Times Free Press
Immediate Past President: Nancy Barnes, Senior Vice President of News and Editorial Director, NPR
Fourteen directors elected by the NLA members:
Sarah Nordgren, Deputy Managing Editor for sports, business, entertainment/lifestyles and health/science, Associated Press
Nancy Ancrum, Editorial Page Editor, Miami Herald
Katrice Hardy, Executive Editor, Greenville News, and Regional Editor for the South, USA TODAY Network
Mandy Jenkins, General Manager, The Compass Experiment
Ingrid Ciprian-Matthews, Executive Vice President of Strategic Professional Development, CBS News
Carla Minet, Executive Director, Centro de Periodismo Investigativo
Emilio Garcia-Ruiz, Managing Editor in Charge of Digital Strategy, Washington Post
Mark Horvit, Director of the State Government Reporting Program University of Missouri School of Journalism
Audrey Cooper, Editor-in-Chief, San Francisco Chronicle
Sewell Chan, Deputy Managing Editor, Los Angeles Times
Lucy Dalglish, Dean, Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland
Paul Cheung, Director of Journalism and Technology Information, Knight Foundation
Brian McGrory, Editor, The Boston Globe
Dennis Anderson, Illinois State Editor, Gatehouse, and Editor, Peoria Journal-Star
About the News Leaders Association
The American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors are joining forces to become the News Leaders Association. NLA aims to foster and develop the highest standards of trustworthy, truth-seeking journalism; to advocate for open, honest and transparent government; to fight for free speech and an independent press; to nurture the next generation of news leaders committed to spreading knowledge that informs democracy. Our goal is for all citizens to be informed by accurate, truthful, independent reporting so they can demand the best from our democratic institutions.