NLA is now seeking nominations for the Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity Leadership

The News Leaders Association is seeking nominations for the next recipient of the Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity Leadership. We are looking for individuals or news organizations whose actions and work reflect a strong commitment to diversity in honor of the late Robert G. McGruder, a former Detroit Free Press executive editor and former managing editor of The Plain Dealer in Cleveland.
McGruder died of cancer in 2002 but spent his career championing diversity throughout our industry. 
"Bob McGruder exemplified excellence in journalism and was an unwavering champion for diversity and inclusion. The winner of this award is an embodiment of those characteristics," said Hollis Towns, vice president for local news in the Northeast for USA Today Network. 
Towns received the prestigious honor in 2016 for his efforts in improving diversitythroughout our industry. Past winners of the McGruder Award have included Dori J. Maynard, the New Haven Register, Michael Days and many more.
Manny Garcia,  Sr. Director for Standards & Ethics for the USA TODAY Network, was the recipient of last year's Robert G. McGruder Award.  "The Robert G. McGruder Award is one of the highest honors in journalism. At a time when diversity is front and center even more, the award recognizes unselfish leaders who invest in others and are focused on creating a lasting legacy for diversity and inclusion," said Garcia. "Receiving the award has surely been a true highlight of my career."
Nominees should be individuals or news organizations who have made a significant contribution to improving and promoting diversity for one or more years, both through retention and recruitment in their workplaces, as well as through news content. 
The Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity Leadership has been co-sponsored by the American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors, which are now the News Leaders Association, and is also sponsored generously by the USA TODAY Network.
This year's winner will be announced during the News Leaders Association Conference in New Orleans Sept. 9-10. The winner receives $2,500 and a leadership award. 
Please submit your nominations by Aug. 5 to Submitted nominations should include the name of the individual or organization, a brief explanation of why they're being nominated and a headshot or photo of the individual/organization. 
About the News Leaders Association
The American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors are joining forces to become NLA, the News Leaders Association . This is an exciting time and our new organization will continue to advocate for strong leadership, a diverse and inclusive workforce and defend against challenges to the First Amendment.
About the American Society of News Editors
The American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism; defends and protects First Amendment rights; and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, opinion journalism, news literacy and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.
About the Associated Press Media Editors
The Associated Press Media Editors advances the principles and practices of responsible journalism. Founded in 1931, it supports and mentors a diverse network of current and emerging newsroom leaders. APME champions the First Amendment and promotes freedom of information and trains journalists to realize their aspirations and thrive in a rapidly changing environment. APME promotes forward-looking ideas that benefit news organizations and the communities they serve. It works closely with The Associated Press, the largest independent media operation in the world.