ASNE announces finalists for 2018 awards

Columbia, Mo. (March 22, 2018) - Comprehensive and relentless reporting, masterful data journalism, impactful storytelling, emotional photographs and compelling digital presentations are among the entries spotlighted as finalists in the 2018 American Society of News Editors Awards.

The ASNE Awards honors the best in print, digital, photo and video content in 10 categories. The contest drew 481 entries, from which 31 finalists from news outlets of various sizes and platforms were named. Winners will be announced next week.

"The finalists of the 2018 ASNE Awards are samples of exemplary journalism," said ASNE President Alfredo Carbajal, managing editor of Al Día at The Dallas Morning News. "The participating entries show how watchdog journalism is crucial for the betterment of communities, especially in cases where journalists shine light to abuses on critical issues in our society and around the world."

This is the 39th year for the ASNE Awards, among the most prestigious in journalism. Many of the categories are sponsored and come with $2,500 cash prizes, thanks to a group of editors from the former Knight Ridder Inc., The Dallas Morning News, Advance Publications Inc., the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, The Seattle Times, the Chicago Tribune, the O'Brien Fellowship in Public Service Journalism at Marquette University in Milwaukee and The New York Times.
Judging took place both online and on site at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida. The finalists are as follows:
Batten Medal, honoring achievement in public service journalism

Dan Frosch and Christopher Weaver, The Wall Street Journal/Dow Jones & Co. - "Failures at Indian Health Service"
Staff, The Associated Press - "Collapse of the Caliphate"
Staff, The New York Times - "Harassed"
Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership
Dave Helling, The Kansas City Star - "The case against a $1 billion no-bid contract"
Carolyn Lumsden, The Hartford Courant - "Crumbling Foundations"
Evan Mintz, Andrea White, Doug Miller and Joe Holley, Houston Chronicle - "Flooding in Houston"
Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence
Tony Bartelme, The Post and Courier - "Stickin' With the Pig: A Tale of Loyalty and Loss"
Claire Galofaro, The Associated Press - "Trump Country"
Kale Williams, The Oregonian/OregonLive - "The Loneliest Polar Bear"

Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism
Paul Kiel and Hannah Fresques, ProPublica - "Too Broke for Bankruptcy"
John Schmid, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel - "A Time to Heal"

Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting

Mike Baker and Justin Mayo, The Seattle Times - "Quantity of Care"
Patricia Callahan, Chicago Tribune - "Doomed by delay"
Shannon Mullen, Payton Guion and Paul D'Ambrosio, Asbury Park Press - "Renter Hell"

Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing

Yvonne Abraham, The Boston Globe

Petula Dvorak, The Washington Post

Dahleen Glanton, Chicago Tribune

O'Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism
Dan Diamond and Rachana Pradhan, POLITICO - "Resignation of HHS Secretary Tom Price"
Marisa Kwiatkowski, Mark Alesia and Tim Evans, The Indianapolis Star - "Out of balance"
Raquel Rutledge, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel - "Mexico blackouts"
Staff, The Kansas City Star - "Why so secret, Kansas?"

Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling
Clare Baldwin, Andrew R.C. Marshall, Manuel Mogato and more staff, Reuters - "Duterte's War"
Staff, The Arizona Republic with the USA TODAY Network- "The Wall"
Staff, Tampa Bay Times - "Why Cops Shoot"
Breaking News Writing Award
Staff, Houston Chronicle - "Breaking news coverage of Hurricane Harvey"
Staff, The Press Democrat - "Northern California wildfires

Photojournalism Award

Lisa Krantz, San Antonio Express-News - "Rowan's Reach"
Nichole Sobecki, The GroundTruth Project - "A Climate for Conflict"
Staff, San Francisco Chronicle - "The Wine Country Fires"


A group of news leaders and journalism professionals around the nation determined finalists and winners. In addition to the ASNE Awards Committee Co-Chairs Brian McGrory of The Boston Globe and George Stanley of Gannett and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, judges include:

  • Eddie Alvarez, Miami Herald
  • Nancy Ancrum, Miami Herald
  • Richard Aregood
  • Nancy Barnes, Houston Chronicle
  • Peter Bhatia, Detroit Free Press
  • Alfredo Carbajal, Al Día at The Dallas Morning News
  • Nicole Carroll, USA TODAY
  • Paul Cheung, NBC News
  • Rick Christie, The Palm Beach Post
  • Bill Church, GateHouse Media
  • Jim Collins, NBC News
  • Audrey Cooper, San Francisco Chronicle
  • Lucy Dalglish, University of Maryland
  • Manny Garcia, USA TODAY Network
  • Emilio Garcia-Ruiz, The Washington Post
  • Kyndell Harkness, Minneapolis Star Tribune 
  • Jennifer Hemmingsen, The Compass in the Cayman Islands
  • Jean Hodges, GateHouse Media
  • Mark Horvit, University of Missouri, formerly with the Investigative Reporters and Editors
  • Dick Hughes, Willamette University in Oregon
  • Emily Le Coz, GateHouse Media
  • Karen Magnuson, Rochester (New York) Democrat & Chronicle
  • Colin McMahon, Chicago Tribune
  • Angie Muhs, The State Journal-Register in Springfield, Illinois
  • Ileana Oroza, formerly with the University of Miami
  • Paul Owens, Orlando Sentinel
  • Karen Peterson, Tampa Bay Times
  • David Plazas, The Tennessean
  • Mitch Pugh, The Post and Courier in Charleston, South Carolina
  • Amy Pyle, Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Mike Reilly, Omaha World-Herald
  • Liz Roldan, CBS4 Miami
  • Eve Samples, Treasure Coast Newspapers
  • Gissela SantaCruz, Austin-American Statesman
  • Ellen Stein, The Durango Herald
  • Mizell Stewart III, Gannett/USA TODAY Network
  • Joyce Terhaar, formerly with The Sacramento Bee
  • Lillian Thomas, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
  • Hollis Towns, Asbury Park Press
  • Anne Vasquez, tronc, Inc.
  • John Voskuhl, Bloomberg News
  • Eric Wieffering, Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Mike Wilson, The Dallas Morning News
  • Stan Wischnowski, Philadelphia Media Network

About the American Society of News Editors
The American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism; defends and protects First Amendment rights; and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, opinion journalism, news literacy and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.