Get your journalism work recognized by ASNE Mike Royko Award for Column/Commentary Writing

If your organization has outstanding work of commentary and column writing, then consider submitting it to the Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing category in the 2018 ASNE Awards by 11:59 p.m. EST Tuesday, Jan. 30.
Sponsored by the Chicago Tribune, the Mike Royko Award recognizes excellence in writing by an individual that expresses a personal point of view. Entries may include columns, blogs and other journalistic forms of opinion but not editorials. 

Mike Royko
The award, which comes with a $2,500 cash prize, is in memory of legendary columnist Mike Royko, who wrote columns for nearly 34 years at the Chicago Daily News, the Chicago Sun-Times and the Chicago Tribune. His Tribune column was syndicated to more than 600 newspapers. He is known for writing five columns a week for much of his career, often targeting powerful politicians. He died in 1997. 

Stephen Hendersen
Last year, the Mike Royko Award went to Stephen Henderson of the Detroit Free Press for his extraordinary writing with grace, clarity and humanity. 
See his winning work: Columns and essays
You or your organization can win the honor this year! Read more about specific rules for this category, and submit your work today.
For questions, contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Morrison at or 573-882-3792 or ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.