Get your work recognized by ASNE Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism

If your organization has outstanding work that fights for justice, then consider submitting it to the Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism category in the 2018 ASNE Awards by 11:59 p.m. EST Tuesday, Jan. 30.
Dori J. Maynard
Sponsored by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Dori J. Maynard Award celebrates journalism that overcomes ignorance, stereotypes, intolerance, racism, hate, negligence and indifference. Winning entries will bridge any or all of the social fault lines and fissures of race, gender, religion, class, caste, generation, disability, illness, nationality and geography. 
The award, which comes with a $2,500 cash prize, is in memory of former ASNE Board of Director Dori J. Maynard who was the president of the Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and a strong advocate for newsroom diversity and journalism that addressed injustices. She died in 2015.
Eli Saslow
Last year, the Dori J. Maynard Award went to Eli Saslow of The Washington Post for his superbly written tale of a man born into white supremacy who walks away from the white nationalist cause that he was born to lead.
See his winning work: "The white flight of Derek Black"
You or your organization can win the honor this year! Read more about specific rules for this category, and submit your work today.
For questions, contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Morrison at or 573-882-3792 or ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.