Get your feature journalism recognized by ASNE Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence

If your organization has outstanding work of news and feature writing, then consider submitting it to the Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence category in the 2018 ASNE Awards by 11:59 p.m. EST Tuesday, Jan. 30.
Sponsored by Advance Publications, Inc., the Deborah Howell Award recognizes excellence in writing (except commentary or editorials) by an individual that's not done as breaking news.  
Deborah Howell
The award, which comes with a $2,500 cash prize, is dedicated to former editor Deborah Howell who loved compelling writing. She served as editor of the St. Paul Pioneer Press and later as editor of Newhouse News Service's Washington bureau. She also served as ombudsman for The Washington Post. She died in 2010. 
Billy Baker
This year, the Deborah Howell Award went to Billy Baker of The Boston Globe for his detailed reporting, beautiful writing and dramatic tension to craft a compelling narrative about a boy diagnosed with neuroblastoma, a rare childhood cancer that typically kills.

See his winning work: 
"The Power of Will"
You or your organization can win the honor next year! Read more about specific rules for this category, and submit your work today.

For questions, contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Morrison at or 573-882-3792 or ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.