Get your editorial writing recognized by ASNE Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership

If your organization has outstanding work of editorial writing, then consider submitting it to the Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership category in the 2018 ASNE Awards by 11:59 p.m. EST Tuesday, Jan. 30.
Burl Osborne
Sponsored by The Dallas Morning News, the Burl Osborne Award recognizes editorial writing that is excellent journalism and makes a difference in a community. The award is in memory of former ASNE President Burl Osborne who, as editor, president and ultimately publisher, led The Morning News to national prominence and a string of Pulitzer Prizes. He died in 2012.  
Editorials submitted can be the work of the same individual or team and can be signed or unsigned. The award comes with a cash prize of $2,500.
Brian Colligan
This year, the winner of the Burl Osborne Award was Brian Colligan of The Virginian-Pilot for his editorial campaign on "The Jailhouse Death of Jamycheal Mitchell" through which he pressed for investigations and transparency and reminded readers at every turn of the injustice done to this man. 

You or your organization can win the honor next year! Read more about specific rules for this category, and submit your work today.
For questions, contact ASNE Senior Information Specialist Megan Morrison at or 573-882-3792 or ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.