2016 ASNE Board of Directors announced

The ASNE Board of Directors added four new members and a new executive committee at the ASNE-APME News Leadership Conference in Philadelphia. Mizell Stewart III of USA TODAY Network took the reins as ASNE president for 2016-17. He succeeds 2015-16 ASNE President Pam Fine.  

Elected to ASNE's executive committee pending the expected approval by the new board:  
  • Vice President Alfredo Carbajal, Al Día (The Dallas Morning News)
  • Secretary Nancy Barnes, Houston Chronicle
  • Treasurer Mike Oreskes, NPR, Washington, D.C. 
Four directors elected for three-year terms:
  • Paul Cheung, The Associated Press 
  • Lucy Dalglish, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland
  • Karen Magnuson, Democrat and Chronicle (Rochester, New York)
  • Hollis Towns, Asbury Park Press (New Jersey)
Three members appointed for one-year terms: 
  • David Haynes, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Mandy Jenkins, Storyful (New York)
  • Lauren Williams, (Washington, D.C.)