ASNE announces finalists for 2016 awards

Take a look at the compelling stories and photos by the 28 finalists for the 2016 ASNE Awards. Winners will be announced next week.

Gripping narratives, outrage-inducing investigations and compelling data presentations are among the entries spotlighted as finalists in the 2016 American Society of News Editors Awards.

The ASNE Awards honor the best in print, digital and video content in nine categories. The contest drew more than 300 entries, from which 28 finalists from news outlets of various sizes and platforms were named. Winners will be named next week.

"America's newsrooms are meeting the challenges they face with journalism that leverages the power of words, images and technology to engage and call their communities to action," said ASNE President Pam Fine. "The creativity and excellence we saw in these finalists was inspiring."

This is the 37th year for the ASNE Awards, among the most prestigious in journalism. Many of the categories are sponsored and come with cash awards.

Judging took place both online and on site at The Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg, Florida. The finalists are as follows:

Batten Medal, honoring individual achievement in public-service journalism:

Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership

Deborah Howell Award for Nondeadline Writing

  • Esther Htusan, Margie Mason, Robin McDowell and Martha Mendoza, The Associated Press - "Seafood from Slaves"
  • Michael M. Phillips, The Wall Street Journal - "Taken Hostage"

Dori J. Maynard Award for Diversity in Journalism

  • Perla Trevizo and Fernanda Echavarri, Arizona Daily Star - "Divided by Law"

Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting

  • Michael LaForgia, Cara Fitzpatrick and Lisa Gartner, Tampa Bay Times - "Failure Factories"

Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing

  • David Cook, Chattanooga Times Free Press 

Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling

Breaking News Writing Award

Community Service Photojournalism Award


In addition to Fine of The University of Kansas, Awards Board Chair David Boardman of Temple University and the committee's Vice Chair Brian McGrory of The Boston Globe, judges were: Trif Alatzas, The Baltimore Sun; Andy Alexander, Ohio University; Mike Anastasi, The Tennessean; Nancy Barnes, Houston Chronicle; Christopher Baxter, University of Michigan; Kathy Best, The Seattle Times; Peter Bhatia, The Cincinnati Enquirer; Scott Bosley; Dudley Brooks, The Washington Post Magazine; Bonita Burton, The Villages Daily Sun, The Villages, Florida; Steve Cavendish, Washington City Paper, Washington, D.C.; Bill Church, Sarasota Herald-Tribune; Audrey Cooper, San Francisco Chronicle; Suki Dardarian, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Gregory Favre; Casey Frank, Miami Herald; Tim Franklin, Poynter; Manny Garcia, Naples Daily News; Anders Gyllenhaal, The McClatchy Company; Renee Hannans; Val Hoeppner, Middle Tennessee State University; Mandy Jenkins, Storyful; Marty Kaiser; S. Mitra Kalita, Los Angeles Times; Chris Krewson, Billy Penn; David Ledford, The News Journal, Wilmington, Delaware; Silas Lyons, Record Searchlight, Redding, California; Michael McCarter, The Cincinnati Enquirer; Bryan Monroe, Temple University; Karen Peterson, The News Tribune, Tacoma, Washington; Mitch Pugh, The Post and Courier, Charleston, South Carolina; Arnie Robbins, ASNE; George Rodrigue, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, Ohio; Rick Rodriguez, Arizona State University; Bobbie Roessner, Hearst Connecticut Media Group; Mark Russell, The Memphis Commercial Appeal; Mike Sallah, Miami Herald; Eve Samples,; Rene Sanchez, Minneapolis Star Tribune; Mila Sanina, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Debra Adams Simmons, Nieman Foundation; George Stanley, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel; Mizell Stewart, Journal Media Group; Joyce Terhaar, The Sacramento Bee; Robyn Tomlin, The Dallas Morning News; Anne Vasquez, Sun Sentinel, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida; and Stan Wischnowski, Philadelphia Media Network.