ASNE board elects Nancy Barnes to leadership ladder

Nancy Barnes, editor and executive vice president of the Houston Chronicle, will assume the role of treasurer at the October conference in Palo Alto, California. 

The Board of Directors of the American Society of News Editors elected a member to its leadership ladder during the March 19 spring board meeting at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida. 


Nancy Barnes, editor and executive vice president of the Houston Chronicle, will assume the role of treasurer at the October conference in Palo Alto, California, when the current officers each advance to the next leadership level. Barnes will assume the presidency of ASNE during the 2018 annual meeting. 


ASNE's leadership is served by President Chris Peck, associate editor of The Riverton (Wyo.) Ranger; Vice President Pam Fine, Knight Chair for News, Leadership and Community at the University of Kansas; Secretary Mizell Stewart, vice president of the newspaper division of The E.W. Scripps Company; and Treasurer Alfredo Carbajal, managing editor of Dallas-based, Spanish-language newspaper Al Día (The Dallas Morning News). 


Barnes is a chairwoman of the ASNE New Media, New Ethics Committee, which focuses on helping newsrooms tackle the thorny question of how the digital age is affecting and/or eroding traditional journalism values for better or for worse. 

The first woman to serve as editor of the Houston Chronicle, Barnes has a strong commitment to excellence in local journalism. Previously, she was editor and senior vice president of the Minneapolis Star Tribune, the winner of two Pulitzer Prizes in 2013: one for local news for its reports on infant deaths at poorly regulated day care homes and the other for editorial cartooning. Barnes received her bachelor's degree from the University of Virginia and an MBA from the University of North Carolina.  


The American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism; defends and protects First Amendment rights; and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives. Board members whose terms continue are as follows:  

  • Debra Adams Simmons, vice president of news development, Advance Local

  • David Boardman, dean, School of Media and Communication at Temple University

  • Jim Brady, CEO and founder, Stomping Ground

  • Lucy Dalglish, dean, Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland

  • Stephen Engelberg, editor-in-chief, ProPublica

  • Manny Garcia, editor, Naples Daily News

  • Anders Gyllenhaal, vice president of news and Washington editor, The McClatchy Company

  • Karen Magnuson, editor and vice president of news, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle

  • Alan Miller, president and CEO, The News Literacy Project

  • Michael Oreskes, senior managing editor, The Associated Press

  • Emily Ramshaw, editor, Texas Tribune

  • Mark Russell, managing editor, The Memphis Commercial Appeal

  • George Stanley, editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

  • Joyce Terhaar, executive editor and senior vice president, The Sacramento Bee

  • Robyn Tomlin, vice president of digital and communications, Pew Research Center