Archive August 2009

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

UPDATE: New SEC credential policy

The Southeastern Conference, upon the urging of ASNE, APME and APSE, has significantly revised its sports credential policy in several areas.

Help with restrictive sports credentialing

We wanted to let you know of two resources ASNE is offering to assist members who are facing unduly restrictive sports credentials.

Common restrictions in sports credentials

A list of recurring issues that appear in sports credentials. Reviewing this list should assist you in identifying troublesome provisions when you are presented with new credentials to cover a league or team.

ASNE, APME, APSE joint protest over restrictive nature of SEC credentials

With the college football season about to kickoff, news organizations around the country are starting to receive credential policies from the major conferences, and there are potentially serious questions with these that you should be aware of.

Keeping public speeches on the record: Memo to press secretaries of Congress and the Executive Branch

ASNE is a signatory to this effort led by the Sunshine in Government Initiative.

The Next America: Remarks by Bobbi Bowman, 2009 Ida B. Wells recipient

Former ASNE Diversity Director Bobbi Bowman received the 2009 Ida B. Wells award at the NABJ convention in Tampa, Fla., during the Salute to Excellence dinner Saturday night.

2009 ASNE Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants

Teachers spark teen journalists and news consumers

As part of the American Society of News Editors’ aggressive national effort to grow youth journalism, news literacy and access to new media tools, 172 teachers from 38 states have completed the ASNE Reynolds High School Journalism Institute.

Nominations being accepted for 2009 McGruder Diversity Leadership Awards

The Freedom Forum, in partnership with the Associated Press Managing Editors and the American Society of News Editors, is accepting nominations for the eighth annual Robert G. McGruder Awards for Diversity Leadership.