Archive March 2007

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

Al Día publisher and editor Bailon elected to lead ASNE

WASHINGTON -- Gilbert Bailon, publisher and editor, Al Día, Dallas, today was elected president of ASNE, the nation's largest organization of daily newspaper editors.

ASNE establishes new diversity awards

WASHINGTON -- Newspapers from Arkansas, New Jersey and Texas were recognized by ASNE today for their success in building ethnic diversity in their newsrooms.

The newspapers were honored by ASNE, which inaugurated the Diversity Pacesetter awards ...

ASNE awarded Knight grant, begins endowment campaign

WASHINGTON -- ASNE has received a $3.4 million grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and launched a campaign to endow its work on the First Amendment and to assist editors in leading change in the evolving business of journalism.

'Get on with the future,' ASNE president Zeeck tells editors

Declaring it time to "get over our past and get on with our future," ASNE President David A. Zeeck, executive editor of The News Tribune in Tacoma, Wash., outlined a bold strategy for the association and the news editors it serves.

Speech by ASNE President David Zeeck during 2007 convention

For each of us there are a few moments when the arc of your life is forever redirected, your world-view altered.

One of those occurred for me 12 years ago on an ASNE trip to China and Vietnam. The moment I recall occurred on an early morning walk through Hanoi as the city awoke and headed to work. I was standing in the heart of the city, along a street bordering Hoa Kiem Lake.

Press advisory for the 2007 ASNE convention in Washington

WASHINGTON -- The nation’s top editors will focus on First Amendment issues and the evolving transformation of the business of journalism when they gather March 27-30 at the J.W. Marriott Hotel, Washington, for the annual convention of the American Society of Newspaper Editors.

ASNE recognizes longtime Florida journalist with editorial leadership award

RESTON, Va. — The American Society of Newspaper Editors will honor Andrew Barnes, editor emeritus and retired chief executive officer, St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times, as the recipient of as the recipient of the ASNE Award for Editorial Leadership.